Renewable Energy Sector Board to focus on local manufacturing and jobs

Energy Minister Matt Kean said the Renewable Energy Sector Board will play a key role in delivering on the NSW Government’s commitment to boost opportunities for local jobs and industry – particularly in the regions.


The Board will look at everything from material sourcing and supply to contracting arrangements, and explore ways to give NSW manufacturers a competitive advantage in emerging ‘green’ supply industries. It will be joint chaired by Daniel Walton from the Australian Workers’ Union and Craig Memery from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre, and brings together 12 representatives from across the sector.

Joint Chairperson Daniel Walton, from the Australian Workers’ Union said we need to deliver policies that both create new jobs and support existing workers.

“These new policies should drive genuine accountability and replace the ‘tick and flick’ culture of procurement which has favoured overseas suppliers in recent decades,” Mr Walton said.

“This Board will play a critical role in maximising the use of locally produced and supplied goods. This will both sustain and boost jobs for local workers and foster opportunities for apprentices and trainees in the renewable energy industry.”

Joint Chairperson Craig Memery, from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre, said we need to make sure the sector is competitive to deliver choice for consumers and drive down electricity prices.

“We want to make sure our local workers and industries reap the economic benefits of the transition to cheap, reliable and renewable electricity, and we’ll be looking at ways to do this in the best interests of NSW electricity customers,” Mr Memery said.

The Board, which will provide its first report to the Minister by the end of March 2021 and will meet at least once every six months, was a key component of the NSW Government’s landmark energy legislation that passed through the NSW Parliament in November 2020.

NSW Renewable Energy Sector Board members

Daniel Walton, National Secretary, Australian Workers’ Union
Craig Memery, Policy Team Leader, Energy + Water Consumers’ Advocacy Program, PIAC

Mark Cain, Chief Executive, Australian Steel Institute
John Coyle, Director, Varley Group
Anna Freeman, Policy Director – Energy Generation, Clean Energy Council
Lynne Gallagher, Chief Executive Officer, Energy Consumers Australia
Grahame Kelly, General Secretary, CFMEU (Mining and Energy Division)
James Hay, Chief Executive, Energy Corporation of NSW
Paul Italiano, Chief Executive Officer, TransGrid
Justin Page, Secretary NSW & ACT, Electrical Trades Union
Matthew Robertson, National Strategy & Market Development Manager, BlueScope Steel Australia
Stacey Sleeman, Chief Financial Officer & Company Secretary, Tomago Aluminium
Rod Stowe, former NSW Fair Trading Commissioner
Cory Wright, State Secretary, Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union

Energy Industry Partners


Events, grants, news, resources and project announcements. Stay informed via our newsletters.