Austmine’s Industry Leaders’ Dinner and Awards Brisbane

Date: 22-May-2019



22 May 2019 


Austmine 2019


Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre


Awards Dinner Ticket Delegate: $190.00 +GST
Awards Dinner Ticket Non-Delegate: $250.00 +GST 


Over the course of the evening, Austmine recognise and celebrate the leaders of innovation and export in our industry, and announce the winners of 4 prestigious awards, further promoting the fantastic work that the mining industry and METS sector has achieved in the past 18 months.

This is the perfect opportunity to unwind and to network with your peers, make new contacts or catch up with old ones. 


Austmine Champion of Innovation Award

The Austmine Champion of Innovation award recognises an individual’s contribution to innovation in the mining industry and METS sector across the course of their career. Innovation can be in all forms including invention, process, strategy, marketing, productivity or any other aspect, the purpose of the award is to acknowledge those individuals who have pioneered and championed innovation to help make this industry what it is today.

Past winners include Bob Muirhead, Executive Chairman, RCT and Bill Withers, Founder of acQuire Technology Solutions

Austmine Innovation for METS Award

Sponsored by Department of Industry, Innovation and Science 

Austmine prides itself on promoting innovation in METS and mining, and this award is given in recognition of a new innovative product, process or strategy that has been developed that truly stands out from the crowd in terms of wider implications for mining operations or the industry as a whole.

Past winners include Core Resources and Dingo

Austmine Innovation for Miners Award

Sponsored by Dingo 

This award first launched in 2015 in order to acknowledge innovation being implemented, introduced or driven by mining companies. Miners are critical to driving innovation, either through internal development, fast adoption of innovative technologies or processes, or innovation in the approach to collaboration.

Past winners include Rio Tinto and Carbine Resources

Craig Senger Excellence in Export Award

Celebrating excellence in export of Mining Equipment, Technology and Services (METS), the Craig Senger Excellence in Export Award recognises those companies who excel in exporting and have an ethos of courage and determination. Named after and given in memory of Craig Senger, an Austrade Trade Commissioner who was a strong supporter of the Australian METS sector when his life was tragically cut short in a terrorist attack in Jakarta in July 2009. This award continues to recognise the importance of exporting to the Australian METS sector, and seeks to profile those who are leaders internationally. For METS companies to truly thrive, exporting is a critical factor, and this award contributes to creating a strong global awareness of Australia’s impressive METS sector capabilities.

Past winners include CSA Global and Hy-Performance Fluid Power

Keynote Speaker: Curtis McGrath

Curtis McGrath is a para-canoeist like no other. On the 23rd of August 2012, young soldier Curtis McGrath’s life changed forever. The decorated Sapper was two months into a tour of Taliban-rife areas of Afghanistan when he stepped on a homemade landmine, otherwise known as an IED (Improvised Explosive Device). The then 24-year-old tragically lost both his legs in the blast.

In February 2017 Curtis became the first Paralympic athlete to be honoured by being named ‘Sportsman of the Year’ at the World Paddle Awards and Australian Canoeing Paracanoeist of the Year. That same year he was honoured with an Order of Australia Medal. Curtis also was an ambassador for the Invictus Games 2018 in Sydney where he helped build the profile of the games and worked for the ABC on the broadcasting team with Chris Bath, Anthony ‘Lehmo’ Lehman and Dylan Alcott OAM.

To find out more, go to the event page here.